Creative CNC-Where Art and Automation Collide
Register Calendar Latest Topics

Author   Comment  
namebrand

Reply with quote  #1 
I have seen many discussions on the topic of what the best 3D printer is and which one to choose, but the take away to me is almost always the same...there isn't a "best". Like almost every tool, every 3D printer has pros and cons and can be suited better for one or more types of job. If someone is looking for the magic bullet of 3D printers that will do everything, then they won't find it. That's not to say that you can't find a printer that will do everything you want it to do, but when it comes to doing everything there isn't one. Of course I'm no expert, but this is what I have found.

To start with there are different types of printing technology to contend with, and each has areas it excels at. I'd say the main ones are stereolithography (SL or SLA) and fused deposition modeling (FDM).

SLA uses light (often a laser) to harden the building material in layers to create the printed object. This means that the potential to create higher resolution prints is there and the complexity of the prints can be much higher (interlocking pieces, gears, bearings, all printed in an assembly in some cases). With this comes cost and there aren't as many consumer level options. Far less post prep/clean up for a finished piece.

FDM has been sometimes referred to as a glorified hot glue gun. They squirt out melted plastic to build the printed item. There is a wide variety of these sorts of printers out there and they are the cheapest option available right now. The print resolution is usually much lower, but they tend to be a lot faster. Often a great deal more post prep/clean up for a finished piece.